Orla O’Sullivan against all odds.

Orla O'Sullivan, pianist</p><br /><br /><br />
<p>Picture: Eddie O'HareOrla O Sullivan is a Deaf-Blind pianist, and teacher. She uses music as a way of overcoming her profound deafness and visual impairment. Qualified teacher since 1991, she teaches music in a unique and successful way, as to which her many pupils can attest.

“I teach music in a standard, normal way. The difference is in how I prepare,” she said.

“I memorise everything, even the questions that are normally asked by students at the various levels. With my hearing aids on and with close lip-reading I can usually make out what is being said.

“As regards the music, again, with my hearing aids on, I can hear/feel some of the notes. The notes I cannot hear, I hear in my imagination. As regards sight, what I see is normal for me. I can only imagine what a person with perfect vision can see.”

Ms O’Sullivan was among nine people with hearing loss commended at the Hidden Hearing Heroes Awards.

Anybody who might be concerned about their hearing, can avail of a free hearing test at any Hidden Hearing branch nationwide. You can book a hearing test free of charge at any of Hidden Hearing’s 60 clinics nationwide. Freephone 1800 370 000 or visit www.hiddenhearing.ie.

Read more on  Orla’s own website Click Here:

Leave a Reply

